The Roycroft Recordings-The English Singers Recorded 1928

The Roycroft Recordings-The English Singers Recorded 1928

The Roycroft Recordings-The English Singers Recorded 1928 Rating:

List Price: $14.99
Sale Price: $14.99
(as of 07/12/2016 07:14 UTC – Details)

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Eligible For Free Shipping

Product Description

A part of the Arts and Crafts movement in the U.S, the Roycroft community was a reformist group founded by Elbert Hubbard in 1895 in East Aurora New York. Known as Roycrofters, they had a strong influence on the development of American architecture and design in the early 20th century. Inspired by the 17th century English printers, Samuel and Thomas Roycroft, the name had a special significance to Hubbard, meaning King’s Craft. Unable to find a publisher for his book “Little Journeys”, and inspired by William Morris’s Kelmscott Press in England, Hubbard founded the Roycroft Press. His championing of the Arts and Crafts approach attracted printers, furniture makers, metalsmiths, leathersmiths, and bookbinders, numbering over 500 by 1910. A John Ruskin quotation formed the Roycroft “creed”: “A belief in working with the head, hand and heart and mixing enough play with the work so that every task is pleasurable and makes for health and happiness”. In 1915 Hubbard and his wife Alice died in the sinking of RMS Lusitania, and the community declined, but thankfully the Society recorded these musical documents of the English Singers. Said composer George Gershwin “I am playing these records of the English Singers over and over, and the more I play them the more they appeal to me.” John Jacob Niles,was a student of Appalachian folk music and recorded the two final cuts on this disc. All Tracks were transferred with a special digital hi-definition process for smoother, clearer sound. ~ Mickey Clark.
1 Sing We and Chant It w/recit (Thomas Morley) 151 2753
2 Sing We and Chant It wo/recit (Thomas Morley) 151 3445
3 Turtle Dove 151 2454
4 In Going to My Naked Bed (Richard Edwards) 152 2762
5 Just as the Tide Was Flowing 152 2806
6 The Three Fairys (Purcell) 153 2763
7 The Silver Swan (Gibbons) 153 2767
8 Now is the Month of Maying (Thomas Morley) 154 2770
9 Brigg Fair (Percy Grainger) 154 2771F
10 Wassail Song 155 2755
11 Since first i Saw Your Face 155 3028
12 The Piper Of Dundee mx3463 155 3463
13 Down in Yon Forest 156 2801
14 All Creatures Are Merry Minded 156 3007
15 Hard By A Crystal Fountain (Morley) 156 3444
16 The Holly and the Ivy (Rutland Boughton) 157 3009
17 Corpus Christi (Peter Warlock) 157 3012
18 We’ve Been a While A-wandering 158 3010
19 Hark All Ye Lovely Saints 158 3077
20 An Acre Of Land 158 3464C
21 A Farmer’s Son (Ralph Vaughn-Williams) 159 2805
22 Summer is Icumen In (John of Fornsete) 159 3443C
23 Ca” the Yowes 160 3008
24 Though Amaryllis Dance In Green (William Byrd) 160 3022
25 O Christ Who Art the Light (William Byrd) 161 3023
26 In Dulci Jubilo (R.I.Pearsall) 161 3465
27 Hosanna To The Son Of David 161 3027
28 The Dark-Eyed Sailor (Ralph Vaughn-Williams) 162 2802
29 It’s of a Lawyer (Ralph Vaughn-Williams) 162 3025
30 He’s Got the Whole World in his Hands Marion Kerby – John Jacob Niles 172 3446
31 Just Like a Tree Planted Near the Water Marion Kerby – John Jacob Niles 172 3555

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.’s standard return policy will apply.


No features available.